SAG-AFTRA Life Achievement Award Recipient Dick Van Dyke on his Long and Wonderful Career (video)

dick-van-dyke-interviewThe SAG-AFTRA Life Achievement Award is given for “outstanding achievement in fostering the finest ideals of the acting profession” and I can’t think of a better choice to receive this years award than Dick Van Dyke.

I remember coming home from school and instead of going outside and playing with friends and being healthy, I stayed in and watched reruns of the Dick Van Dyke Show. I devoured the show and his films (Mary Poppins, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) and have him to blame for my doughy body.

In the interview below, SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard talks with Van Dyke about his career, from the beginning, his show and moving up to his films and more. He’s got great stories and if you are remotely interested in him, you should definitely watch it.

The 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® airs on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2013, at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT and 5 p.m. PT.

Check it out below!

 

1 Comment

  1. Richard Keats via Facebook

    January 2, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Chim chim-in-ey, chim chim-in-ey
    Chim chim cher-ee!
    When you’re with a sweep you’re in glad company
    Nowhere is there a more ‘appier crew
    Than them wot sings, “Chim chim cher-ee, chim cher-oo!” Good luck to all fellow actors in 2013!

Leave a Reply

http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Anna-Kendrick-Pitch-Perfect-2.jpg
Anna Kendrick Talks Hollywood and its Gender Bias
"As an actress you're perpetually about to be unemployed." - Anna Kendrick
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/tom-hardy-mad-max-fury-road.jpg
Tom Hardy on Fame, Acting School, and His ‘Mad Respect’ for Michael Fassbender
"Do what you love doing, do it well—everything should fit into place." - Tom Hardy
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/cabaret-emma-stone.jpg
Emma Stone on How Broadway Boosted Her Confidence
"I feel more like I understand acting in a different way." - Emma Stone on Her Broadway Experience
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/rachel-mcasdams-true-detective.jpg
Rachel McAdams on Her ‘True Detective’ Role and Why She Loves Acting
"What I love is dropping into someone else's life and exploring it" - Rachel McAdams on Acting
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Helen-Hunt-Then-She-Found-Me.jpg
Helen Hunt on Why She Made the Creative Move to Directing
"When I wasn’t getting acting jobs all the time that I liked, I was writing and writing and writing" - Helen Hunt