SAG-AFTRA Life Achievement Award Recipient Dick Van Dyke on his Long and Wonderful Career (video)

dick-van-dyke-interviewThe SAG-AFTRA Life Achievement Award is given for “outstanding achievement in fostering the finest ideals of the acting profession” and I can’t think of a better choice to receive this years award than Dick Van Dyke.

I remember coming home from school and instead of going outside and playing with friends and being healthy, I stayed in and watched reruns of the Dick Van Dyke Show. I devoured the show and his films (Mary Poppins, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) and have him to blame for my doughy body.

In the interview below, SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard talks with Van Dyke about his career, from the beginning, his show and moving up to his films and more. He’s got great stories and if you are remotely interested in him, you should definitely watch it.

The 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® airs on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2013, at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT and 5 p.m. PT.

Check it out below!

 

1 Comment

  1. Richard Keats via Facebook

    January 2, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Chim chim-in-ey, chim chim-in-ey
    Chim chim cher-ee!
    When you’re with a sweep you’re in glad company
    Nowhere is there a more ‘appier crew
    Than them wot sings, “Chim chim cher-ee, chim cher-oo!” Good luck to all fellow actors in 2013!

Leave a Reply

http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Sarah-Paulson.jpg
Sarah Paulson: “I muscled a lot of what I’ve achieved by sheer force of will and relentless determination”
"If my career had turned out like the fantasy I had of what it was going to be, it would never have made me happy" - Sarah Paulson
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Boyd-Holbrook-Narcos.jpg
Boyd Holbrook on Shooting ‘Narcos’ in Colombia: “It was the most difficult thing I’ve ever done”
Holbrook talks about working with the real-life Steve Murphy, what movie inspired his narration, and why shooting in Colombia was so challenging.
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Joseph-Gordon-Levitt-Snowden.jpg
How Joseph Gordon-Levitt Developed his ‘Snowden’ Voice
"You're playing someone that everybody in the world has seen before. It's a little different than playing a fictitious character." - Joseph Gordon-Levitt
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/renee-zellweger-bridget-jones-baby.jpg
Renée Zellweger on Returning to Film After a Six-Year Absence: “I needed to grow as a person in ways that didn’t revolve around my work”
Zellweger talks about what prompted her six-year absence from Hollywood, what's different about playing Jones again, and ageism in Hollywood.
http://www.dailyactor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/dev-patel-lion.jpg
Dev Patel: “I want there to be people that look like me represented on screen”
"There aren’t many roles written for someone that looks like me. It’s slim pickings. It’s difficult, but I try and stay on the optimistic side." - Dev Patel